Alabama Music Teachers Association
Affiliated with Music Teachers National Association

Teacher of the Year

This award is presented to recognize a member of AMTA for excellence in teaching, musicianship, and service to AMTA and/or the community. The award, presented at the Conference Banquet, includes a plaque, recognition in the AMTA Soundboard and in the conference program, and a waiver of fees for the conference and banquet.

Teacher of the Year Award Committee

A standing committee of three persons will be appointed by the President to be in charge of the gathering of information and determining the winner of this award. They will be appointed for two/year terms. The members of the committee will consist of the Immediate Past President (Chair of the committee) and two members from different areas of the state.

Nominee Requirements

The nominee must:

Nomination Process

Nomination of a teacher in any medium will be accepted from local AMTA affiliated associations or individual AMTA members. It is the responsibility of the nominator or nominating group (not the nominee nor the Award Committee) to see that the application is complete. Completed applications should be sent to the Immediate Past President with postmark date on or before April 13, 2023.

Information to be included with the nomination:

Send this completed application and any other supporting materials by April 13 to the AMTA Immediate Past President:

Melody Ng, AMTA Past President
UAH Department of Music
301 Sparkman Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899


Teacher of the Year Nomination Form

Previous AMTA Teachers of the Year

Year Honoree Affiliation
2021 Susan Hoop Independent Teacher, Huntsville
2019 Tatiana Kasman University of Alabama at Birmingham
2017 Elizabeth Rutland Independent Teacher, Auburn
2015 Dr. Kevin Chance University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa
2013 Ginger Beazley Ars Nova, Huntsville
2012 Noel Beck Independent Teacher, Florence
2011 Donna Shugart Birmingham-Southern College
2010 Syble Coats Shelton State Community College, Tuscaloosa
2009 Connie Macon Samford University, Birmingham
2008 Vincentine Williams Independent Teacher, Mobile
2007 Hilda Hagins Independent Teacher, Enterprise
2006 Barbara Shinn Independent Teacher and Samford University, Birmingham
2005 Nancy Wingard Birmingham-Southern College Conservatory
2004 William DeVan Birmingham-Southern College
2003 Sue Trosclair Independent Teacher, Mobile
2002 Dr. Roy Wylie Auburn University
2001 Mary Jane Scruggs Independent Teacher, Mobile
2000 Dr. Susie Francis Dempsey Jacksonville State University
1999 Dr. Ronald Shinn Samford University, Birmingham
1998 Dr. Betty Sue Shepherd Samford University, Birmingham
1997 Frances Schwemmer Independent Teacher, Huntsville
1996 Barbara Laurendine Independent Teacher and University of Mobile
1995 Amanda Penick University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa